Book Tour·Books Reviews·Romance

Blog Tour: The lucky One by Sylvie Stewart

Hello readers,

Today is day 4 on the blog tour for ‘The Lucky one’ by Sylvie Stewart and I am thrilled to have the opportunity to participate as this was a wonderful read that made me laugh out loud hard. Perfect for summer.

The lucky one

The Lucky One
by Sylvie Stewart
(Carolina Connections)
Publication date: May 11th 2017
Genres: Adult, Comedy, Romance

My Rate: Terrific

Goodreads


What is it about?

Bailey:
Let’s get one thing straight. I am not your typical girl. Sure I’ve got all the parts, but I’ve been a stubborn, irreverent tomboy since the womb, as my Irish father would proudly attest. Despite my Irish blood, I’ve had a bit of bad luck here and there—I recently trusted the wrong guy and got derailed in my professional pursuits. But I’ve bounced back. With my shields firmly in place, I thought nothing, or no one, could touch me again. Until he did. And he just might make this tomboy do the girliest thing in the world—fall head over heels in love. Of all the damn luck…

Jake:
I’m a pretty lucky guy. I have a phenomenal family, a career I love, and I’m building a brand-new life back in my hometown. And, not to be a jerk about it, but I do more than all right with the ladies. Everything’s been going according to plan—like I said, I’m a lucky guy.

That was, until my luck ran out.

Until I met the girl I call “Irish.”

Irony can go kiss my a$$.


My Review

Even though this is the third book in the Carolina Connections series it can be read as a standalone.

Jake and Bailey met in Baileys’s brother wedding and they hit it off. After an amazing one night Bailey thought it was the end of it. SHe didn’t want to pursue it as  he looks like the guy who can break her heart. Jake, who is Bailey’s best friend brother, is decided try something more with Bailey,  and for that he will need to convince her to go out with him. Could she risk a heartache and find love?

Hilarious and delightful read

This is the first romantic comedy that I have read and I loved it. It was such a fast and enjoyable read that made me laugh throughout the whole book with Bailey’s sacartic comebacks and, of course, with Jake who I adore.

“So Rocco and I came to an understanding.  He would do whatever he damn well pleased and I would repeat the phrase “just don’t tell anyone” every six minutes”.

And over the next 24 hours, I learned that “no” means many things, but not one of them is actually “no”. For example, “No, raw brownie batter can make you sick” actually means, “Let’s try it and see!”

Adorable  and lovable characters

Bailey is a tomboy that decided long ago that she will protect her heart no matter what, so falling in love isn’t in her plans, fun yes but love definitely no. She has had her heart broken several times which made her insecure both with her looks and her skills. There were parts where I could totally relate to her and understand her decisions,  because nobody wants to have her heart broken. But there were other parts were I was just shouting at her.

I specially loved her relationship with her father. They are very closed and I liked how her father always goes for an irish saying when he wants to express himself, made me laugh.

‘But what if he breaks my heart? “Well. I suppose there are no guarantees in life, but sometimes you just have to jump in feet first. Otherwise, you’re going to miss out on the food stuff”

Jake has come back home after working in another state to try to reconnect with his brother and have a good relationship with his mother. He feels guilty for having left them behind with a horrible father. I liked how he knows what he wants and doesn’t stop until he gets it. Let’s just say that his stubborness gets him what he wants.

“You can help me by getting out of my room and letting me get back to work, dickwad”, I told him as I returned by attention to the paperwork. What can I say? When it comes to brothers, insults and physical assault are often the only forms of affection we understand”

Realistic points of view

One of the things that I liked the most was that you were having the story told from both points of view and mixing the present with what happened in their first encounter. The best part was to read what happened in that night from both perpesctives. It was funny to see how Bailey thought she was acting with what happened really.

This is a fantastic summer read that will made you laugh hard and enjoy every page. I totally recommend it.


Where to find it?

You can read the first chapters here

Author

Sylvie_Sylvie Stewart is an author of Romance and Romantic Comedy. Like the characters in her books, North Carolina is where Sylvie calls home these days, and she can’t get enough of the great weather and fun adventures NC offers. She and her husband love arguing over which of them is the funniest. Sometimes, she lets him win because she’s cool like that. When she’s not writing, she is hanging out with her husband and kids or reading, Romance being her favorite genre, of course. And she knows that life wouldn’t be worth living without a lot of laughter, friends, and wine! You can always find out what Sylvie’s up to at her website www.sylviestewartauthor.com

Find her in: Web | Facebook |Twitter Twitter | Goodreads

Firma

 

6 comentarios sobre “Blog Tour: The lucky One by Sylvie Stewart

Responder

