Book Tour·Books Reviews·Retelling·YA

Book Tour The Rise of the Sea Witch by Stacey Rourke

Hello readers,

Today is day four of the Rise of the Sea Witch book tour and I’m coming to you with my review on this book.

the rise of the sea witch

Rise of the Sea Witch
by Stacey Rourke
Publication date: June 19th 2017

Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

My Rate: Excellent

Goodreads

Amazon


My Review

This is the first book that I read of mermaids and it had everything I was expecting: great world building, realistic characters and twisty plot all amazingly executed.

The book narrates the life of Vanessa, daughter of Poseidon and Queen Titones and sister to Triton, until the moment she becomes the Sea Witch. This was such a phenomenal story: it made me laugh, it made me sad and most of all anxious for what was happening and for what was going to happen.

“We are no longer the myth beneath the sea to them. We have now become the menace that sinks their ships and pillages their bounty”

Mesmerizing world building

As I mentioned before this was the first book I read regarding mermaids so I didn’t know what to expect. I was fascinated by the world the author created, it felt so vivid and real. I especially liked the history aspect of Atlantica, and the clarifications on the organizational and political structure of it, as for me this make it much more real.

“If you don’t know where you’re going, any road will get you there”

Addictive and page turner plot

As this is the story prequel of a well know villain we all knew how the story was going to end but I was so pleasantly surprise with how the author picture Vanessa and how her story was told that I couldn’t put it down. In addition, there was more than one surprise and plot twist that I didn’t see coming.

“Magic is a part of who you are, just as it was for me. Deny it and you deny yourself”

My only regret is that sometimes I did expect more background story as there would mentioned something in the story that happened but we weren’t aware.

Complex set of Characters

I was very pleased on how Vanessa’s character was portrait. Her evolution was very well defined and all so well explained that in the end you just think that that was the only end possible for her.  You could see all the decisions, circumstances and consequences that made her become the Sea Witch, and you can relate to all of them and understand her.

“I have laid out a choker for you with an aquamarine stone. It’s said that the gem can ward off evil spirits. You will wear that, your stylish headband, and a shell bra. That’s it. Be you without apology or explanation. None is needed, Princess, and don’t you forget that. Do you hear me?”

All her life the only thing that she ever wanted was her fathers’ approval, which is why she has always worked harder than her bother to achieve it. It didn’t matter how much she worked she would never get it and it was heart –breaking to see how see reacted as she didn’t understand the reason behind it.

She became focused on her training so people around her could only see her as a cold goal oriented person, but she loved her family deeply and that is something showed during the whole book, and something that gets her in more than one trouble.

“It is my opinion that if the princess ever hopes to find a mate, she should realize that in Atlantica it’s she who holds her tongue that gets a man”

There were moments were you just wanted to scream as it all seemed very unfair to her.

I couldn’t stand Poseidon and how he treated her. He knew he was being unfair to her but he didn’t care. I started liking Triton a lot because he was so adorable when he was a child but afterwards and especially when something happened (I’m not going to tell it because of spoilers) I wasn’t that into him.

Definitely worth reading. I highly recommend it.


What is it about?

Details of the sea witch’s banishment have been exaggerated. The body count that preempted it was not. Once an illustrious princess, her hands and tentacles were stained with the blood of thousands. No one could comprehend how the hooks of madness dragged her down from her life of privilege.

Born Princess Vanessa of Atlantica, the ambitious young royal was one of two children born to the great King Poseidon. She and her brother, Triton, were groomed from birth to rule. Yet only one would ascend that coveted throne. While carefree Triton flits through his training with a cavalier demeanor and beguiling charm, Vanessa’s hunger for her father’s acceptance drives her to push herself to the limits of magic, and combat to become a leader worthy of her people.

When war against the humans ravages their once regal kingdom, political sides are chosen. Factions from the seven seas challenge the existing leadership, pitting Vanessa against her brother in a vicious battle for the crown. Traitors are exposed, dark family secrets revealed, and a once strong sibling bond is strained to its breaking point.

Only when the ink black waters from the ultimate betrayal rescind, will the truth be known of how the villainous sea witch rose with one name on her vengeful lips–Triton.

What did you think? Is it something you would like to read?

Firma

5 comentarios sobre “Book Tour The Rise of the Sea Witch by Stacey Rourke

Responder

