Books Reviews·YA

Book Review – The Conspiracy of Us

The conspiracy of us #2Title: The Conspiracy of Us

Author: Maggie Hall

Publisher: Speak

Genre: Mystery

Publication date: 13th Jan 2015

Rate: Terrific

Where to find it? Amazon, Goodreads

Hello readers,

Today I’m doing the review for the book ‘The Conspiracy of Us’. I read this book almost knowing nothing, I knew it was about conspiracy and a prophecy but I didn’t want to know more. I freakin’ loved this book. It was just amazing. The pace, the characters, everything, specially the plot.

Intriguing, mysterious and addictive

This book suck me in from page one, I just couldn’t put it down. I was at work and thinking about it and when will I be able to continue reading.

Avery West is used to move from one place to another almost constantly due to her mothers’ work. She doesn’t get attached to people and keeps to herself so when is time to move again it would be easier. Until one day she meets Jack and through him one of the things she has wondered all her life: who her father is. She is part of the Circle, twelve families that secretly rule the world. Add to this an old prophecy, the search for a treasure, Alexander the Great and a dangerous romance.

Original and brilliantly executed

The thing that captivated me the most was the plot. I found it original and refreshing. I thought that the way the author connected historic elements with the story and the history of the Circle itself was amazing. The way the clues connected themselves, how were they displayed and discovered and how the puzzle of the treasure was being solved left me perplexed.

 


‘Because it’s worse to wish for something that’s never going to happen and be disappointed than to never wish for anything at all’


Smart and Action packed 

Avery was a very enjoyable heroine. She was resourceful, smart and bold getting them out of trouble more than once, doing whatever it takes to get to the truth and solving the clues. She risks everything to know who her father is. And you could relate to her in how alone she felt having kept her distance with everybody all her life.

Stellan and Jack are now part of my book boyfriend list. They were completely different but both capable of killing if necessary. There is animosity between them and jealousy but it is not explained in detail. You have on the one hand the mysterious, dark and dangerous Russian guy and, on the other hand the handsome, strong and trustworthy one. I liked both but I’m sensing a love triangle thing coming up in the next book, and I’m not a fan of those.


‘I’d expected Stellan to look less epic in the light and without half the prom staring at him like he was a Greek god, but I was wrong. Where Jack was always perfectly put together, Stellan might have cut his mop of hair himself, and he’d slept in his clothes. And still, he was attractive in an almost unbelievable way, like he glowed from the inside.’


I can’t wait to read the second instalment of the series, seems to me that is going to be amazing.

Have you read this series? What did you think?Do you have any book recommendations similar to this?

Firma

Un comentario sobre “Book Review – The Conspiracy of Us

Responder

