Books Reviews·YA

Book Review – Chansing truth

Hello Readers,

Today I’m reviewing ‘Chasing Truth’ an YA novel written by Julie Cross that will be published by Entangled Publishing on the 27th of September.

chasing-truth

‘When former con artist Eleanor Ames’s homecoming date commits suicide, she’s positive there’s something more going on. The more questions she asks, though, the more she crosses paths with Miles Beckett. He’s sexy, mysterious, arrogant…and he’s asking all the same questions.

Eleanor might not trust him – she doesn’t even like him – but they can’t keep their hands off of each other. Fighting the infuriating attraction is almost as hard as ignoring the fact that Miles isn’t telling her the truth…and that there’s a good chance he could be the killer.’

Ellie is an ex con artists that gets a chance to have a normal life after an event that took place with her family. She is reunited with ther sister, Harper, that lives with her boyfriend CIA agent, Adam. Trying to have a normal life Ellie meets Simon, an estate senator son, who takes her to prom. After the prom dance and leaving Ellie home, Simon arrives to his empty house and commits suicide. But this is something that Ellie has never believed, she saw him fine just before. After, handsome and new neighbor Miles arrives they grouped together to find out the truth. Was it really a suicide? Or is something darker behind all of it? And, why does Miles care so much about it?

This is the first book I read were the criminal is a teenager and I was interested to know how she thinks and acts, and the psycological effect of growing up being in a family of con artists. I ended up loving Ellie’s charatcer. I think that the strong point of the book were the characters, they were just so vivid and so real I  want to know more about them.

floral-1321368_960_720 Characters

Ellie is my favorite character. She is smart, charismatic, is great reading other people and taking advantage of what she discovers and knows how to take control of a situation and how to leave by talking her way out. She can get and achieve anything she wants but she is always fighting with herself not to become again the con artist she used to be which makes her struggles  with some of her decisions.

‘My mother told me that a lie is so much more effective when it’s wrapped in truth. This is the most useful piece of advice of information my parents have provided me’

Definitely Ellie is no innocent teenage girl, but the decisions she made when she was younger were influenced by her parents so she had little to no choice in that. I felt for her when she remembered things from her past.

And I had some mixed feelings towards Miles, though I loved the chemistry that rises between both of them. He is shy and affetionate with Ellie though he doesn’t want to be involved so there is always tension among them. He is all black and white and his moral standards are too high that made it very hard to talk to him.

Something I did like a lot is the fact that normally in YA novels you don’t get to meet the parents and family of the main characters, you know they are there but they don’t appear. In this case, you get a perfect picture of both families and this adds a lot to the background of the characters, making them more real.

floral-1321368_960_720 Plot

I loved the plot.  An estate senators commits suicide but not all seems clear and his best friend decides to investigate. Intriguing. Even though I loved how it all evolves and there were several twists that surprised me, I was a bit disappointed with the investigation line followed. I feel like there were a lot of pages full with things that had nothig to do with the main plot (the investigation) but rather with the relatinship building between Ellie and Miles. I enjoyed these parts a lot, they were very fun to read but seriously where is the FBI or CIA? What are they investigating?

‘From my experience, studying an asset through computer data, it’s always a long, tedious search usually offering tiny morsels of gold buried in thousands of bytes of useless data.’

I loved the development of the relationship of Ellie and Miles it added a lot of fun to the story and a lot of tension too.

It added that the ending wasn’t rushed. It took it’s time and explained a lot, though I felt that some of the angels could have been more explained in the end.

On the other hand, I loved the story about Ellie’s family and what she did, and was hoping to learn more but this being the first book in a series I guessed I’ll have to wait. Also, I was very surprised with the story behind Miles.

floral-1321368_960_720 Writing

The book is told from Ellie’s perspective and it deals with a lot of interesting topics. Can people that have done wrong changed? Or should they always be considered criminals? Is it possible to commit a crime but for good reasons? These and more were included and I enjoyed how they were discussed through out the book.

In all is a book that I enjoyed a lot reading, and I would recommend this for all the  fans of The Naturals series and the tv show Veronica Mars.

Excellent

Have you read it?

*I received this copy from Netgalley in exchange of an honest review.

Un comentario sobre “Book Review – Chansing truth

Responder

