TBR

My September TBR

Hello Readers,

Yeeei finally fall is coming. I am not a summer person so I’m very very happy that the heat is finally leaving (though now there is a heat wave in Spain :/). So for this post I am sharing with you all what I’m planning to read this month. A little confession first, I’m not very good at following lists but those are the books that I’ll most probably read on September.

Chasing truth

‘Chasing thuth’ by Julie Cross. When I read the blurb I couldn’t wait to read it. It is suspenseful and fast paced. I have already started it and is quite hard to put it down.

What the blurb says

When former con artist Eleanor Ames’s homecoming date commits suicide, she’s positive there’s something more going on. The more questions she asks, though, the more she crosses paths with Miles Beckett. He’s sexy, mysterious, arrogant…and he’s asking all the same questions.

Eleanor might not trust him – she doesn’t even like him – but they can’t keep their hands off of each other. Fighting the infuriating attraction is almost as hard as ignoring the fact that Miles isn’t telling her the truth…and that there’s a good chance he could be the killer.’

The sword of summer

‘The sword of summer’ by Rick Riordan. As always the books from Rick Riordan appeal to me. I just love mythology, and in this case is based on Nordic mythology which I don’t know much (well anything) about.

What the blurb says

‘Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.

One day, he’s tracked down by a man he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. The man tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.

The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.

When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.

Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .’

The book club murders

‘The book club murders’ by Leslie Nagel. I had this included in my summer TBR, but I wasn’t in the mood, now I’m read for a cozy mystery (plus the book club of the story is of Agatha Christie’s books)

What the blurb says

‘Charley Carpenter has poured heart and soul into her clothing store, Old Hat Vintage Fashions. She’ll do anything to make it a success—even join the stuffy Agathas Book Club in order to cultivate customers among the wealthy elite of Oakwood, Ohio.

Although mixing with the most influential women in town has its advantages, Charley finds the endless gossip a high price to pay. But after two women with close ties to the Agathas are brutally murdered, everyone falls under threat—and suspicion. When key evidence indicates that both murders are the work of the same hand, Charley realizes that the killer has arranged each corpse in perfect imitation of crime scenes from the Club’s murder mystery reading list. She uses her membership in the Club to convince Detective Marcus Trenault to use her as an inside informant. Not that he could stop her anyway.

Intelligent, fearless, and every bit as stubborn as Marc is, Charley soon learns the Agathas aren’t the only ones with secrets to protect. Passions explode as she and Marc must race against time to prevent another murder. And if Charley’s not careful, she may find herself becoming the killer’s next plot twist.’

The age of Amy

‘The age of Amy’ by Bruce Edwards. Okay I know we are not supposed to judge a book by it’s cover but I saw this one I just wanted to read it. Besides, the blurb is also very interesting 🙂

What the blurb says

‘A late-night phone call from a stranger implicates 16-year-old Amy in a terrorist plot. But when the nefarious caller suddenly vanishes, she becomes the FBI’s prime suspect. To prove her innocence, Amy embarks on a fantastic journey to find her mysterious night caller. The clues to the man’s whereabouts all point to a dingy, old barbershop that caters to the rich and powerful. What draws them to the shop’s eccentric barber is bewildering, until Amy stumbles upon the secret to his success: a magic shampoo that removes guilt!’

A brush with death

‘A brush with death’ by Richard King. When I was selecting it from Netgalley it said perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, so of course, I had to pick it up.

What the blurb says

‘When famous author Ovid Holmes is murdered in his apartment, bookshop owner and wannabe sleuth, Sam Wiseman, finds himself drawn into the investigation. As he teams up with Detective Gaston Lemieux once again, the investigative duo have their work cut out. When they find an old newspaper article relating to a murder in the art world twenty years ago, they realise that Ovid’s research for his latest novel could have something to do with his own death. And as they delve deeper into the case, they uncover criminals who will do anything to stop their secrets from getting out . . .’

Have you read any of these? What are you planning to read?

 

Anuncios

4 comentarios sobre “My September TBR

Responder

Introduce tus datos o haz clic en un icono para iniciar sesión:

Logo de WordPress.com

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de WordPress.com. Cerrar sesión / Cambiar )

Imagen de Twitter

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Twitter. Cerrar sesión / Cambiar )

Foto de Facebook

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Facebook. Cerrar sesión / Cambiar )

Google+ photo

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Google+. Cerrar sesión / Cambiar )

Conectando a %s