Books Reviews·Other

Author Interview – Jessica Holbrook

Hello Readers,

Today I am very excited to bring you something different to what I normally post. A couple of months ago I received an advaced copy of ‘The perfect Descent’ by Jessica Holbrook which was released on the 5th of April of this year. It was a book that stayed with me after reading it, as I was shocked with the twists but specially the characters, they were VERY dark. For those of you who haven’t read it yet, you can find my full review here.

I contacted Jessica and asked her if she would like to do an interview for my blog, and she was so kind enough to accept 🙂

                                                             floral-1321368_960_720 A little bit about the author

Jessica Holbrook Jessica Holbrook is a novel writer borned and raised in Utah, USA. She is also the writer of the wonderful and amazing blog Lews simple Things , in which she shares her opinions on beauty products and styles,  recipes, vacations/adventures, DIY crafts, and workout regimens as well as book reviews. Definitly go check it out!

I specially liked her thoughts on what she says books really are ‘Books are an amazing way to escape to another world, even if it’s just for a few minutes—or hours! I love when you find that really good book and you just can’t put it down! Those are the best books there are. Reading is one of my passions, and reading mystery/thriller novels, suspense, and of course, romance is my favorite.’ 

If you want to know more about Jessica Holbrook you can visit and follow  her on: website | Instagram | Pinterest | Facebook 

floral-1321368_960_720   The Interview

So without further due let’s jump right into the interview!

What inspired you to write this book?

I have always had an overactive imagination, and I absolutely LOVE mystery’s and thrillers. I would always think of scenarios in my head and one day I just thought that maybe I should just write them down. One thing led to another and this book happened!

 
 Who is your favorite character of The Perfect Descent?
 My favorite character is definitely Deacon Shaw. He is a straight-forward guy and doesn’t take anything from anyone! He is hard on the outside, but really he is a big softy.
 
What was the hardest character to write? and why?
I would say the hardest character for me to write was Madison Benchley. She is just so traumatized and damaged and doesn’t always think of the best decisions or come up with the best conclusions. She is so used to this certain lifestyle and way of living that to most people we can’t even imagine why she thinks the way she does or does the things she does. My intention wasn’t to have her be too irritating, but sometimes fear and something that has been drilled into your head can be hard to change or make us do irrational things.
 
What is your favorite book and author?
I have tons of favorite books! It’s hard to just choose one. Same with authors! I love the classics like To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, etc. But I also love The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien, The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas, The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, and Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll. There are just so many great books out there!
 
What is coming up next for you? Any new releases for this year?
I have several other books in the making, but I have recently taken ill and have been forced to focus more on that than my books. Which makes me so sad! But I will be back at it in no time.
 
If you could write any other genre which one would it be?
I have always loved fantasy books. I would love to come up in an imaginary world with creatures straight out of my mind. That would be lovely.
 
How do you approach the writing process? Do you write everything first, and then edit? Or Edit as you go?
I tend to edit as I go, so it takes me quite a bit longer to actually write out a book. I read and re-read and make sure it is just the way I want it before I move on to the next chapter.
 
How long did it take you to write down the first draft?
For this book it took me about two years! I had a full-time job so I really only had time to write on the weekends or in my free time. I would have doubts and reservations about actually getting it published, so that factored in the time frame, too. But I’m so glad I took the risk and put it out there for others to read and enjoy!
 
What tips would you give to someone who wants to become a writer?
It’s pretty scary and nerve-wracking to put something you have dedicated to much to out there for the whole entire world! You get good reviews and you get bad reviews. You can either take the bad with a good outlook or you can let it bother you. It goes along with the saying “You can’t please everyone.” And that is very, very important to remember! I’ve had to tell myself this multiple times!
Did you always know you wanted to be a writer?
I have always loved reading and writing since I was very little. I never thought of myself as a published writer, and still can’t believe I have actually done it! 
What other things do you like doing aside from writing?
I love cooking. I might not be too great of a cook, but I love doing it. I’m just Utah so anything outdoors is where I can be found; hiking, boating, sightseeing, four-wheeling, etc. I love being outdoors. Music is another huge part and inspiration of my life! I like giving aid to others and helping where I can, whether it’s donating money, clothes, food, labor, and/or my time. I think that’s very important, especially nowadays. 
Thank you so much Jessica for accepting and I hope to read another great book from you soon!
Un comentario sobre “Author Interview – Jessica Holbrook

Responder

