Books Reviews·Thriller·YA

Book Review: One was lost

One was lost

Title: One was lost

Author: Natalie D. Richards

Publication Date: 1st October 2016

Number of pages: 322 pages

 

 

What the blurb says

Damaged. Deceptive. Dangerous. Darling. Are they labels or a warning? The answer could cost Sera everything.

While on a mandatory senior field trip, a flash flood cuts off Sera and three classmates from their group with no way to call for help. But they’re not as alone as they thought…

Someone is stalking them through the woods. Someone who drugged them, stole their supplies, and wrote on their skin. Is it a judgement? A warning? If Sera doesn’t uncover the truth, it’s only a matter of time before the hunter finds her.”

My Review

A high school trip turns into a race for their lives when someone in the forest is searching for them with in a very twisted plan. A small group of students together with two teachers are in a few days senior field trip. The weather is not the best, so when the rain is too heavy it breaks the bridge they are trying to cross, and the group gets divided in two.

When they woke up the next day, a word have been written on their wrists, they have been drugged and the number 3 is carved in the ground. Is it someone out there on the hunt for them? Where are the others? And, is this a warning or a threat? Either way their only chance is to move and find help.

 

 floral-1321368_960_720   Plot

I really liked the idea of this book that was the thing that made me wanna read it, I thought it was very original. I haven’t read any book with a storyline like this one, and it is much more than what the blurb states. The way it all unravels in the end got me by surprise as I was totally convinced that someone else was behind all.

One of the things that I enjoyed the most were the words in the wrists a good way to put the characters against each other and raise suspicions. I think that this made it more frightening  as there was someone that have been able to get close to you, marked you and you couldn’t avoid it. For each character a different word is written, supposedly one that describe them. This is something that makes you think about how we are always labeling people. We know them for two seconds and we instantaneously categorize them, and it is hard to change that afterwards. Though this was something that make the story thrilling and interesting I feel like it was all kept in the surface. I would have loved to know more in depth about why each word was selected, and to know the motive of why they were marked in the first place. .

The background story (which I am not going to tell because I don’t want to spoil anybody) was something I didn’t expect, and added suspense to the plot wanting to know what happened.

floral-1321368_960_720 Writing Style

I have mentioned this in other occasions but I don’t usually like when the story is told in first hand, I feel like I am missing part of the story. In this book we are following Sera, going back and forth from before the trip to things that happened to her before. She has been a theater director for the school and in some parts she was telling the story as if it was seen by the eyes of a director. For me it was something that didn’t make sense as it didn’t add anything to the story.

In addition this is supposed to be a 3 day timeline, and for this I expected a much faster pace but there were times when I felt like time wasn’t passing by at all. Like it took them all day to walk like 4 kilometers, and that was all. How they moved from one part to another. A lot of time was also spent discussing what to do, and showing distrust against each other. I wouldn’t have mind if it hasn’t been in several occasions and wasting time when you know someone is there hunting you.

“Pretty pathetic that we’ve probably been in the same three or four square miles this whole time.” 

floral-1321368_960_720 Characters

I am having troubles to describe this, as I didn’t enjoy them. I wasn’t able to connect with any of them so I wasn’t very fond of either. We are told pieces of information about their lives and personalities but not enough to form an opinion. I wanted to know what was going to happen but I didn’t care much about them.

It is not a book I loved or despised, it was okay. I didn’t put a lower rate because I liked the plot but for me it didn’t achieve all the potential it could.

Interesting

 

You can find it in:  Amazon , Goodreads

*I received this book from Netgalley in exchange of an honest review

 

 

Un comentario sobre “Book Review: One was lost

Responder

