Books Reviews

Incredible bookstores

Foyles bookstore

Foyles BookstoreLocated in 107 Charing Cross Road in London I found one of the most amazing libraries I have been into. Foyles “houses a range of over 200,000 different titles on four miles (6.5km) of shelves – the equivalent of lining one bank of the Thames with books from Battersea Power Station to the Tower of London” (Foyles webpage).

Foyles bookstore

This bookstore, opened by the brothers William and Gilbert Foyle, first see the light in 1903. It is like an icon in the literature world. In this place you can find any genre you are looking for. From: crime fiction, fiction, poetry, sci- fi, books to learn language, music, DVDs, political and more technical books from all areas. It is also known for the book author events and lectures, which I was not able to witness.

When I first entered I was amazed, and enjoyed the welcoming sentence “Welcome book lover, you are among friends”.  Each floor contains a different genre up to the last one where you can take a coffee break and have lunch in the café.

I visit it a couple of times when I was in the city, and I took my timeto enjoy the different titles that it has. I like that you can find anytype of bookand even more (magazines, DVDs, etc). In the section dedicated to children, there is also a space for travel, and hobbies (cooking books, knitting, gardening…).

It is a must see for all book lovers that are going to London.

Un comentario sobre “Incredible bookstores

Responder

